top of page

Most Anticipated Albums of 2017! (Part Deux)

Hello again! I started off 2017 by listing some of my most anticipated albums of the year. Since that time, however, I've realized that I have another list of albums that I wish to talk about and add to that list. So, this is part two of my most anticipated albums list of 2017 (I will most likely have many more posts to add to this list...)!

Ronald Bruner Jr. - Triumph (March)

I talked about Thundercat in my previous list for 2017 albums, and Ronald is his brother! So, naturally, I have to feature his debut album, Triumph. A little less wacky than Thundercat's work, Triumph seems like it's going to be an instrumental behemoth with vocals that reminded me of a younger Stevie Wonder. It feels as though the instrumentals on this album are much more in-your-face and bombastic, as opposed to laid back and jazzy/funky. I am more than happy to have two Bruner albums this year, with them both complementing one another.

Blanck Mass - World Eater (March)

Sacred Bones Records have another release that I am anticipating. I swear their label is full of interesting artists. Also, I must be rapidly warming up to electronic music, as this album is yet another electronic release on my radar. Not that I disliked electronic before, but I find myself gravitating more and more toward these releases. Either way, Blanck Mass is releasing his third full-length project and I'm looking forward to all of the noisy tension with soothing resolutions. Should be a challenging listen!

Richard Barbieri - Planets + Persona (March)

Richard Barbieri, a member of the now defunct group Porcupine Tree, has produced his own album of ambient electronica. Now, I'm sure many would consider that to sound dull. However, Barbieri is a master of making spine-tingling, atmospheric tones. So, I have no doubt that this project will be a fascinating listen.

Pallbearer - Heartless (March)

Powerful doom metallers Pallbearer are going to be kicking ass once again this month. I've heard the first couple of songs from this album, and they are positively punishing. They're actually touring with Marissa Nadler at the moment, which is beyond awesome. I wish I had the opportunity to see that! Either way, their new album will be releasing at the end of the month, and will no doubt strengthen an already metal-heavy lineup for 2017!

Kylesa - Live At Maida Vale Studios (April)

Sigh. Kylesa, one of my all-time favourite metal bands, is still on indefinite hiatus. But, even though I'm eternally sad about this, they are issuing a live EP of their performance for BBC at Maida Vale Studios. I've heard that actual copies of this live album are limited in number, so I've pre-ordered it right away (I'm a sucker). What can I say? I love this band, and I'll take whatever I can get from them for now, while hoping for their return someday. This all leads into my next project on this list...

Laura Pleasants - TBA

Laura Pleasants is the frontwoman for the band Kylesa. I've been hearing that she's going to be releasing something this year, which will, hopefully, fill the void that Kylesa has left. After all, they probably would have released another album this year based on their two-year album cycle. So, I'm hoping what I've heard actually comes true, and that Laura does release something. What it will sound like, I have no idea. But I'm excited, nonetheless.

Todd Rundgren - White Knight (May)

Todd Rundgren is one of my favourite artists. I was introduced to his music by my parents almost 20 years ago, and I love that he is still releasing music. Especially considering that it is impossible to pinpoint what it might sound like. In fact, his two releases (Runddans and Global) in 2015 were both drastically different, ingenious, quirky, and quintessentially Todd. I am elated that he is, once again, going to release a new album in 2017! Nothing is known about it yet, other than the fact that it is called White Knight, and that it will be released in the Spring. But this has quickly become one of my most anticipated of the year.

To be continued...


Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Twitter Basic Square
Archive
bottom of page