top of page

Most Anticipated Albums of 2017! (Part Uno)

After a bit of a layoff, I'm back with my list of my anticipated albums of 2017! 2016 was a terrific year for music, and it seems like 2017 could rival it, or even exceed it! I'm going to be including both announced albums along with rumoured releases. But I'm going to try to include only rumoured releases that are almost certainly going to come out in 2017. So, let's start it off, shall we?

Kimbra - TBA

I'm starting off with my most anticipated album of 2017. Anyone who knows me knows that Kimbra is a favourite of mine. The Kiwi pop queen is currently recording her third full-length LP for release in 2017. She debuted a few new songs in a live show back in August, including an official release of the sensationally bopping single, Sweet Relief, in September. Now, it's just a matter of waiting to see what she comes up with! In the meantime, enjoy Sweet Relief, and check out her re-worked version of Jaga Jazzist's Oban, titled Relative Peace.

Mastodon - Emperor of Sand (March 31st, 2017)

Mastodon are returning with their newest effort, Emperor of Sand, in March! I love this band. I've honestly loved all of their albums, and I'm digging both new singles from this album. It seems as if they're going back to the concept-driven approach, with this album dealing with illness and the reality of one's mortality. Seems like it could be quite an emotional ride, so I'm intrigued to see what the finished product brings to the table. Also hoping I can see them live again on tour for this one!

Steven Wilson - TBA

The progressive workhorse is going to be releasing his fifth solo studio record in 2017. Coming after the brilliant Hand. Cannot. Erase., Wilson will be trying to evolve without necessarily trying to best himself. An approach that he takes to heart on every single album, and the reason why his albums are always excellent and full of variety. His post-Porcupine Tree material has been inspiring and I cannot wait to see what he comes up with. His previous album was only bested by Kendrick Lamar's To Pimp A Butterfly in my top albums of 2015 list. So, I'm expecting terrific things once again!

Jesca Hoop - Memories Are Now (February 10th, 2017)

Jesca Hoop's latest has already been released, but I'm just getting around to it now, so I have to include it in this list. I'm looking forward to getting lost in another Hoop album. At the same time, I'm appreciating the minimalist approach that I've heard on some of the songs thus far. I can't wait to dive into this record fully.

Meat Wave - The Incessant (February 17th, 2017)

A Meat Wave album featuring production by Steve Albini?! How could I not be intrigued by that? But seriously, I'm interested to hear what kind of post-punk goodness awaits on their new album, The Incessant. The singles have been fun slices with driving rhythms, and I'm expecting the album to offer more of the same.

Amy Macdonald - Under Stars (February 24th, 2017)

Scottish singer/songwriter Amy Macdonald is releasing her fourth album, Under Stars, in February. After almost five years since her last album, Life In A Beautiful Light, Amy returns to bring us more joyous, lively tunes! If Under Stars is anything like her previous three releases, then it should be one of the highlights of the year. I'm pretty excited for this one, as I always love to strum along with Amy's music on my own guitar. It's always a soothing experience.

Thundercat - Drunk (February 24th, 2017)

Stephen Bruner, also known as the virtuousic bassist, Thundercat, will be releasing his new album in February! I'm going to go out on a limb and predict that this will be the funkiest, bounciest record released this year. Thundercat always brings the craziest songs to the table. Songs you want to dance to, get down to, but can still relate to on certain levels. Considering this album has the title Drunk, I am absolutely positive that it'll be a hell of a ride. I am ready for some delicious bass playing that'll hit me right in the face. So, bring it on!

HARK - Machinations (February 24th, 2017)

Sludge metal outfit HARK are preparing to release their sophomore album this month, and if the singles are indicative of the final product, we're in for another beast. HARK's debut album, Crystalline, was a fierce assault on the ears, and I'm expecting nothing less from their follow-up record. I'm hoping these guys stay consistent, as it's easy to get lost inside the myriad of bands attempting the same musical styles.

Disperse - Foreword (February 24th, 2017)

Disperse may release one of the most interesting albums of the year with their third record, Foreword. There will be plenty of interesting releases this year, but the Polish djent/metal band seem to be blending djent metal with accessible sounds on their newest songs. It almost reminds me of the direction Cynic took with their 2014 album, Kindly Bent To Free Us, which was one of my favourite albums of that year. It's not quite the same style, but it has that same mixture of sounds in the songs so far. Should be fun to dive into this one!

Laura Marling - Semper Femina (March 10th, 2017)

There's nothing like a Laura Marling album that helps to soothe the soul and allow for a complete listening experience. I don't really have much else to say, as she is one of the more consistent singer/songwriters in contemporary music. I'm looking forward to (hopefully) getting lost in another terrific album.

Becca Stevens - Regina (March 24th, 2017)

Becca Stevens is readying her new album, Regina, for a March release. The first single, Queen Mab, is an absolutely funky beaut of a song, with vocal harmonies that bring a Queen-esque vibe throughout. It is a bit of a surprise from Stevens, as I was expecting something a bit more... poppy? But this is a nice, deep, bouncy song with tasty vocals from Becca. I'm pretty intrigued to see where she goes with this album, especially considering she has Jacob Collier and Laura Mvula as features on a handful of tracks. Should be a good one!

Julia Holter - In The Same Room (March 31st, 2017)

Ahhh, Julia Holter. I can't wait for her new album. Unfortunately, this isn't it. However, it is a live album with her current band, which is something that I've also wanted for a bit now (yes, I'm greedy). I'm excited to hear their interpretations of most of the songs from Have You In My Wilderness, as well as some older selections! Julia and her band (Dina, Corey, and Devin) are one of my favourite acts, so even though it isn't an album of new material, I'm still highly anticipating this release.

Pharmakon - Contact (March 31st, 2017)

Honestly, I'm looking forward to this album simply because the songs scare the shit out of me. I don't think I've ever had an artist conjure up that kind of feeling in me as a result of listening to their music. But Pharmakon is achieving that so far with Contact. So, I'm going into this album fully expecting to be blown away in one way or another. These songs almost feel like coming into contact with extraterrestrials. That's not a pun about contact, either. But check this one out if you dare!

Janelle Monáe - TBA

Not much is known about Janelle Monáe's newest album. I'm expecting it to be the conclusion to her wonderful Metropolis saga, but that's still an unknown at this point. Either way, after two spectacular masterpiece records in both The ArchAndroid and The Electric Lady, I have significantly heightened expectations for her newest effort. I've heard that she may be putting the finishing touches on her newest LP, so let's hope we hear something soon, because I am beyond excited for her next project.

Empress Of - TBA

Lorely Rodriguez' new album should be a bumpin' good time. Her last album, Me, was an electronic trip through deep beats, infectious grooves, and insanely booming production. It was also an album that always had me moving, and I never dance. But Me just makes you want to move with how free and confident it feels. So, I'm hoping her next album will also be a banger. Because I need to be busting some more moves.

The Offspring - TBA

The SoCal pop-punk legends are hopefully going to be releasing something in 2017. They have been in and out of the studio for a bit now, with no solid information about a record. Here's hoping they have something coming up for 2017, as I am desperate for more Offspring music after their last album, Days Go By, came out five years ago. Luckily, I'm going to see these guys in July. So, I'll get something out of these guys this year!

Charlotte Day Wilson - TBA

After kicking my ass last year with her collaboration with BADBADNOTGOOD, as well as her awesome EP, CDW, Charlotte Day Wilson will hopefully have a full-length album out in 2017! I haven't heard much about it yet, but the desire to hear a whole LP of this woman's work is fairly strong, I must say. I cannot wait to see what she comes up with. Hopefully, we don't have to wait too long!

Wintersun - The Forest Seasons (TBA)

After finally releasing their last album, Time I, several years ago, Wintersun is slowly revealing the details of their newest album, The Forest Seasons. Only their third album since 2004, The Forest Seasons will hopefully be another quality release, chock full of Finnish metal power. These guys have always taken a long time in between releases, but there is a reason people wait around for their albums: they're pretty awesome. So, let's hope this wait is also worthwhile.

Marty Friedman - TBA

Following up his monstrous return to metal, Inferno, Marty Friedman should be releasing his newest in 2017. Inferno was a terrific album, and it was refreshing to hear Marty taking on metal music again after being heavily involved in J-pop/Japanese musical culture. Nothing wrong with that side of his music either, but I'm always curious to hear what he brings with his more metallic songwriting approach.

Queens of the Stone Age - TBA

Desert rockers Queens of the Stone Age are currently in the studio, recording their follow-up to 2013's brilliant ...Like Clockwork. That album was one of my favourites way back in 2013, but I'm itching to hear what they'll come up with next. Plus, hopefully they'll come back here for their tour, and I'll get to see them live again. Their show back in 2014 was absolutely frantic in the best way possible. So, bring it on!

I'm going to leave this list as is for now! There are plenty of albums that will be announced, and I will add subsequent parts to this post to accommodate. At the moment, these are my most anticipated records of the year. There are already plenty of albums coming, but there will always be more to discuss in the future. Who knows, maybe Stevie Wonder will finally release his years-in-the-making album, Through The Eyes Of Wonder? Can't wait to add more. Enjoy!


Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Twitter Basic Square
Archive
bottom of page