top of page

The Women Shaping My Musical Landscape In 2016

Before I dive head first into this article, I just want to say that women have always been kicking ass in music. However, in 2016, I find that they're having a more significant impact on my listening habits than ever before. It's not something I've ever consciously thought about. Good music is good music to me. But after thinking about it with recent releases this year, it has hit me: women are killing it this year in all aspects of music. This isn't about mainstream trends or sales, or anything of the sort. This is simply personal, and I love that so many of my favourite releases of the year have strong female voices and songwriting talent.

I've always listened to veteran bands like Garbage (with badass frontwoman, Shirley Manson) or artists like Norah Jones, Beth Orton, and Regina Spektor (all with new albums in 2016, by the way). However, with all of the newer discoveries I'm making, I feel like I'm refreshed.

Beginning with one significant example: case/lang/veirs. I've always known about K.D. Lang and her contributions to music, thanks to my amazing mother (miss you). In fact, I believe the introduction to various female, Canadiana-type artists way back when, eventually brought me full circle to where I am now. Artists like K.D. Lang and Amanda Marshall brought upon my love of the female voice. And here we are today, with K.D. Lang now sharing the spotlight with two other artists that have captured my attention: Neko Case and Laura Veirs. If you're a fan of beautiful voices and wonderful arrangements, then their new album will interest you. Their debut effort, case/lang/veirs, is one of my favourites of 2016, and is a perfect example of three women doing what they love and collaborating on ideas which utilize all three unique voices.

Deep Sea Diver is a band I've already written about on this blog, but their frontwoman, Jessica Dobson, has left quite an impression on me. A monster on the guitar with formidable songwriting skills, she fronts a band that has come together to create one of the best albums I've heard in 2016. In fact, Secrets is my frontrunner for album of the year at this point. An absolute gem. Even though I gush about Jessica, the rest of the band is just as talented and skillful, and should not be overlooked.

Hamilton, Ontario native Jessy Lanza had an impressive debut with Pull My Hair Back. Her sophomore album, Oh No, proved that she had grown into her sound in more impressive ways. Her innovative blend of electronic R&B music is catchy, challenging, and a lot of fun. She's also choosing to project her vocals more in her music, allowing them to shine through her vibrant electronic soundscapes.

Angel Olsen is an artist that is new on my radar. I hadn't explored any of her work prior to this year. But I ended up seeing a video for one of her new songs, Intern, on YouTube, and I fell in love with her sound instantly. It turns out that her new album, My Woman, is a proud combination of Neil Young-esque rock and indie pop. It is a record that I highly recommend!

Jenn Wasner already released her Wye Oak album earlier in the year. But her solo effort, under the name Flock Of Dimes, is the one that is casting more of an influence on me. If You See Me, Say Yes is a creative work that feels both light-hearted and serious at times, pulling the listener along for the ride. It was one of my surprises for 2016, but I'm enjoying the hell out of it.

Marjana Semkina, of the Russian progressive duo Iamthemorning, has released one of my favourite albums of 2016. Titled Lighthouse, it is a thought-provoking work about depression, mental illness, and suicide. It's hard-hitting, but gentle at the same time. It does not have the lightest subject matter, but it is certainly enjoyable as a music listening experience. You will be floored by the intense compositions and stunning vocals that bring it all together.

It would take me a while to compose my thoughts and feelings about all of the women who have had such a significant influence on my listening this past year. Among those mentioned above, Agnes Obel, Esmé Patterson, Kimbra, Anika, Sylvaine, etc., have all contributed to an immense year for talented, songwriting women. I truly appreciate the diversity they bring. I've always listened to great women artists in the past, but I feel like I've been able to expand my horizons into newer music as a result of these extraordinary songwriters. Here's to you, ladies!


Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Twitter Basic Square
Archive
bottom of page